Oregon leading in enforcement of truck safety law

Among long-haul drivers and heavy truck operators, Oregon has an interesting distinction. Oregon ranks #1 among states for enforcement of hours-of-service laws (HOS), meant to ensure truckers get adequate rest. Nearly 25% of all trucker tickets in the state are for HOS violations—compared to 9% nationally. Hours-of-service rules as of July 2013* An average work-week… Learn More »

New Safety Rules in Effect for Trucks

As of July 1, truckers are required to take a 30-minute break in the first 8 hours of driving. Truck drivers’ maximum hours per work-week are reduced from 82 to 70.  They must also take a 34-hour break–known as a “restart”–once in every 7-day period. The goal of the new rules is to reduce the… Learn More »